H.R. No. 357

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Longview High School football team reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2018 University Interscholastic League 6A Division 2 state championship, claiming the school's first state crown in 81 years; and
 WHEREAS, Competing for the title in front of more than 48,000 fans at AT&T Stadium in Arlington on December 22, Longview faced a talented team from Beaumont West Brook High School; the Lobos took
- talented team from Beaumont West Brook High School; the Lobos took
 the lead early, going up 13-7 as the first quarter came to a close,
 but they trailed 34-29 late in the game; the Longview offense kept a
 crucial drive alive with a 54-yard reception and followed with a
 2-yard touchdown run to take a 1-point lead with just under five
 minutes left in the game; the Lobos' defense then preserved the win
 by pouncing on a West Brook fumble, and the team hoisted the trophy
- with a thrilling 35-34 victory; and

 WHEREAS, The Lobos were led by Offensive Most Valuable Player

 Haynes King, who threw for 423 yards and 2 touchdowns and also ran

 for a score; his favorite target, Kamden Perry, set a UIL 6A

 championship game record with 218 receiving yards, and Defensive

 MVP Jephaniah Lister collected 12 tackles; and
- WHEREAS, Ably guided by head coach John King and his assistants, Longview excelled throughout the year; unbeaten in the regular season, the Lobos won the District 11 title and then bested Copperas Cove, Prosper, Austin Vandegrift, Spring Westfield, and Amarillo Tascosa High Schools on their march through the playoffs;

H.R. No. 357

- 1 with the championship triumph, the 2018 Longview players ended the
- 2 season with a perfect 16-0 record and joined the 1937 squad as the
- 3 school's two title-winning teams; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Through countless hours of hard work and an
- 5 unwavering commitment to excellence, the Longview Lobos proved
- 6 themselves one of the top teams in Texas high school football in
- 7 2018, and they are a source of great pride to their school and
- 8 community; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the Longview High School football
- 11 team on winning the 2018 UIL 6A Division 2 state championship and
- 12 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 13 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.

Dean

H.R. No. 357

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales	Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White
Dutton	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Fierro		Vo
Frullo	Morrison	Wilson
Geren	Muñoz, Jr.	Wray
Gervin-Hawkins	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Murr	Zedler
González of Dallas González of El Paso	Neave	Zerwas Zwiener
Goodwin	Nevárez Noble	Zwiener
		

		Н	.R.	No.	357
	Speaker	of the	е Но	use	
was	adopted by the	House	on	Marc	h 6,

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 357

2019, by a non-record vote.