H.R. No. 360

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, David Anderson retired from the faculty of The 2 University of Texas School of Law on January 18, 2018, concluding an 3 exemplary career that spanned more than 45 years; and

WHEREAS, David Anderson earned his law degree at UT and joined the school's faculty in 1972; he became one of the nation's foremost experts on the First Amendment, free speech, mass media law, and torts, and many of his students have gone on to national prominence; and

9 WHEREAS, Professor Anderson lectured at universities in 10 Australia, England, Sweden, Italy, and the Netherlands, and he 11 authored or coauthored five books, including two casebooks, as well 12 as more than 50 scholarly articles; and

13 WHEREAS, He also served the state as chief counsel to the 14 Texas Judiciary Council, the policy-making body for the state 15 judiciary, and as an advisor to the Constitutional Convention of 16 1974; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his distinguished tenure, David Anderson earned the respect and admiration of innumerable people, and his contributions to The University of Texas and to the legal community will continue to resonate for years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby honor David Anderson for his exemplary service to The University of Texas School of Law, congratulate him on his

1

1 retirement, and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; 2 and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Professor Anderson as an expression of high regard by 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

Longoria

H.R. No. 360

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 360

Oliverson

H.R. No. 360

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 360 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House