H.R. No. 364

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Public-spirited citizens of Matagorda County are

gathering in Austin to celebrate Matagorda County Day at the State

3 Capitol on February 19, 2019; and

2

4 WHEREAS, Taking its name from the Spanish phrase meaning

5 "thick brush," this region of prairie, salt marshes, and coastal

6 waterways was visited by the French explorer La Salle in 1685; the

7 area constituted part of Stephen F. Austin's first colony, and

8 settlers began arriving through Matagorda Bay during the winter of

9 1821-1822; in 1829, the town of Matagorda was established as a

10 military post, and in 1836, Matagorda County became one of the

11 original 23 counties of the Republic of Texas; and

12 WHEREAS, Matagorda ranked as the second-largest seaport in

13 Texas for a time and served as a shipping point for cotton, sugar,

14 and livestock raised in the county; when the boll weevil endangered

15 the cotton crop in the early 20th century, farmers began to grow

16 rice, and the discovery of oil and sulfur further diversified the

17 area's economy; and

WHEREAS, Ranching, farming, and petroleum remain important,

19 and the county also benefits from the presence of the South Texas

20 Project nuclear plant, which generates enough electricity to power

21 approximately two million homes in Texas; Bay City, the county

22 seat, is a center of the petrochemical industry and the home of

23 TenarisBayCity, an international pipe manufacturing company, while

24 the port at Palacios is home to one of the largest fishing fleets on

H.R. No. 364

- 1 the Texas Gulf Coast; and
- WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy the county's fine
- 3 beaches and its many opportunities for fishing and water sports;
- 4 the county has been named the North American Audubon Society
- 5 Christmas Bird Count winner for 24 out of the last 26 years, and
- 6 birders from across the nation are drawn to the Mad Island Marsh
- 7 Preserve and Wildlife Management Area; Bay City is the location of
- 8 several attractions, including the annual county fair, livestock
- 9 show, and rodeo, which take place in the early spring, and the Rice
- 10 Festival, which is held in the fall; Palacios also hosts a number of
- 11 special events, including the Matagorda Bird Fest & Parade and the
- 12 Palacios Pirate Festival; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Matagorda County is an area of abundant natural
- 14 resources and rich history, and its residents may take great pride
- 15 in their notable heritage as they look forward to a future filled
- 16 with promise; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2019, as Matagorda County
- 19 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 20 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in
- 21 Austin.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 364

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy

Wu

Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Murr

Neave

Noble

Nevárez

Gervin-Hawkins

González of Dallas

González of El Paso

Goldman

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 364
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 364 was	adopted by the House on February
19, 2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House