H.R. No. 366

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Brazosport College is celebrating its 50th 2 anniversary during the 2018-2019 school year, and this is a fitting 3 opportunity to take note of its outstanding record of service to the 4 students of southern Brazoria County; and

5 WHEREAS, Originally known as Brazosport Junior College, the 6 school enrolled its first 879 students in the fall of 1968, and it 7 graduated its inaugural class in 1970, when the name was changed to 8 Brazosport College; this venerable institution has benefited from 9 the leadership of four presidents, including Dr. J. R. Jackson, 10 Dr. W. A. Bass, Dr. John R. Grable, and the current president, 11 Dr. Millicent Valek, who has served since 1996; and

12 WHEREAS, Situated on a spacious 156-acre campus in Lake Jackson, Brazosport College has undergone an impressive period of 13 14 growth over the past two decades; in 2002, the Corporate Learning Center and the Bill and Julia May Children's Center were built, and 15 in 2005, The Clarion music venue was added; in recent years, the 16 school has seen the construction of the BASF Center for Process 17 Technology, the Byron and Sandra Sadler Health Professions/Science 18 Complex, the Dow Academic Center, and a new student pavilion; 19 20 moreover, the BCPC Welding Technologies Lab and the Freeport LNG 21 Crafts Academy were dedicated in 2016; and

22 WHEREAS, Brazosport College received accreditation as a 23 baccalaureate-level institution in 2004, and it offers four-year 24 programs in industrial and health services management, along with

1

H.R. No. 366

1 two-year degree and certification programs for a wide variety of 2 careers; its 300 faculty serve the educational needs of 4,000 3 degree students each semester and 4,000 continuing education 4 students each year, as well as 20,000 participants in business and 5 industry training; and

6 WHEREAS, The Brazosport College Foundation has done 7 outstanding work raising funds for the college, including \$5.6 8 million for the Building a Legacy Campaign in 2002, \$5.5 million with the Your College Capital Campaign in 2008, and \$3 million with 9 the Crafts Academy Capital Campaign in 2015; in 2013 and 2015, the 10 college was named a Top 10 Community College in the nation by the 11 Aspen Institute, and in 2010, 2013, and 2016, the school was 12 certified as a Leader College by Achieving the Dream; and 13

WHEREAS, For half a century, Brazosport College has remained committed to meeting the educational needs of its students, and the school has played a vital role in helping many Texans build a bright and prosperous future for themselves; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate Brazosport College on its 50th 20 anniversary and extend to all those associated with the college 21 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Brazosport College as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 366

H.R. No. 366

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 366 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House