H.R. No. 370

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The celebration of University of Houston-Downtown
- 2 Day at the State Capitol on February 26, 2019, provides a fitting
- 3 occasion to recognize all those associated with this notable
- 4 institution; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Serving the greater Houston region, UHD got its
- 6 start as a downtown business school in 1942, and its original
- 7 building at 1 Main Plaza has been entered into the National Register
- 8 of Historic Places; the university was officially established in
- 9 1974, and the following year, it was approved as a four-year unit of
- 10 the University of Houston System; and
- WHEREAS, UHD added its first master's degree program in 2000,
- 12 and today it offers 52 graduate and undergraduate degrees through
- 13 the Marilyn Davies College of Business, the College of Humanities
- 14 and Social Sciences, the College of Public Service, the College of
- 15 Sciences and Technology, and University College; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Dr. Juan Sánchez Muñoz, UHD
- 17 currently serves a student body of more than 14,000, and its alumni
- 18 base numbers over 50,000; accredited by the Southern Association of
- 19 Colleges and Secondary Schools, the university has earned national
- 20 designation as both a Hispanic Serving Institution and a Minority
- 21 Serving Institution; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the University of
- 23 Houston-Downtown has provided students with a strong foundation for
- 24 the future while fostering an inclusive and equitable campus

H.R. No. 370

- 1 environment, and in so doing, it has played an important role in the
- 2 cultural and economic advancement of the Lone Star State; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as University of
- 6 Houston-Downtown Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome
- 7 to the school's visiting delegation.

Perez

H.R. No. 370

	G	01.
Bonnen of Brazoria	Guerra	Oliverson
Allen	Guillen	Ortega
Allison	Gutierrez	Pacheco
Anchia	Harless	Paddie
Anderson	Harris	Parker
Ashby	Hefner	Patterson
Bailes	Hernandez	Paul
Beckley	Herrero	Perez
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Phelan
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Price
Bernal	Howard	Ramos
Biedermann	Huberty	Raney
Blanco	Hunter	Raymond
Bohac	Israel	Reynolds
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Rose
Bucy	Kacal	Rosenthal
Burns	King of Hemphill	Sanford
Burrows	King of Parker	Schaefer
Button	King of Uvalde	Shaheen
Cain	Klick	Sheffield
Calanni	Krause	Sherman, Sr.
Canales	Kuempel	Shine
Capriglione	Lambert	Smith
Clardy	Landgraf	Smithee
Cole	Lang	Springer
Coleman	Larson	Stephenson
Collier	Leach	Stickland
Cortez	Leman	Stucky
Craddick	Longoria	Swanson
Cyrier	Lozano	Talarico
Darby	Lucio III	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris
Dean	Metcalf	Tinderholt
Deshotel	Meyer	Toth
Dominguez	Meza	Turner of Dallas
Dutton	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miller	VanDeaver
Fierro	Minjarez	Vo
Flynn	Moody	Walle
Frank	Morrison	White
Frullo	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Geren	Murphy	Wray
Gervin-Hawkins	Murr	Wu
Goldman	Neave	Zedler
González of Dallas	Nevárez	Zerwas
González of El Paso	Noble	Zwiener
Goodwin		

	H.R. NO. 370
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 370 was	adopted by the House on February
26, 2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House