RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and staff from Tarleton State
- 2 University are gathering in Austin on February 19, 2019, in
- 3 celebration of Tarleton State University Day at the State Capitol;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The school was established in 1899 as John Tarleton
- 6 College, a four-year liberal arts college, with an endowment from a
- 7 Stephenville landowner and namesake; in 1917, during the 35th
- 8 Legislature, John Tarleton Agricultural College joined the Texas
- 9 Agricultural and Mechanical College as inaugural members of The
- 10 Texas A&M University System; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Today, Tarleton's enrollment surpasses 13,000
- 12 students distributed among 7 colleges, with campuses in
- 13 Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian, and Bryan; the
- 14 university offers more than 100 bachelor's, master's, and doctoral
- 15 degrees, including a new Ph.D. program in criminal justice; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Tarleton benefits from the support of the Texas
- 17 Legislature, the cooperation of local governments, and the
- 18 leadership of its president, Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio, its governing
- 19 board, The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, and system
- 20 chancellor John Sharp; with a strong commitment to growth, the
- 21 university anticipates a number of exciting initiatives in 2019,
- 22 including the opening of the first academic facility at its new Fort
- 23 Worth campus, an expanded and renovated Memorial Stadium, a new
- 24 engineering building, and replacement facilities at the Tarleton

H.R. No. 375

- 1 Agricultural Center following a 2016 tornado; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Long known for its service to first-generation
- 3 students, Tarleton remains focused on timely and successful degree
- 4 completion, and it maintains a reputation as one of the most
- 5 efficient and affordable universities in the nation; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Now in its 120th year, Tarleton State University
- 7 looks forward to the future while taking pride in its rich history,
- 8 and it will continue to provide its students with an outstanding
- 9 education and a solid foundation for success in the years to come;
- 10 now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2019, as Tarleton State
- 13 University Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the
- 14 visiting delegation.

Sheffield

H.R. No. 375

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 375
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 375 was	adopted by the House on February
19, 2019, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House