H.R. No. 476

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Martin County Sheriff Brad Ingram and the Martin
- 2 County Commissioners Court are hosting a dedication and open house
- 3 for the Dan Saunders Law Enforcement Center in Stanton on February
- 4 25, 2019; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Designed by DRG Architects, LLC, of San Antonio and
- 6 constructed by MW Builders of Midland, the new jail and law
- 7 enforcement center is the culmination of a cooperative effort on
- 8 the part of the Martin County Sheriff's Office and other county
- 9 officials; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The facility is named in honor of the late Dan
- 11 Saunders, who served as sheriff of Martin County for nearly four
- 12 decades, from 1953 to 1992; he was greatly admired for his integrity
- 13 and his dedication to protecting the well-being of his fellow
- 14 citizens as well as for the concern he showed to prisoners at the
- 15 jail; the sheriff's long tenure coincided with a great deal of
- 16 change for the county, and he was the last sheriff to oversee its
- 17 "old jail," which has since been converted into a museum and
- 18 designated a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark; Sheriff Saunders
- 19 passed away on April 27, 1995, at the age of 69; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The dedication of the Dan Saunders Law Enforcement
- 21 Center represents a fitting tribute to one of Martin County's most
- 22 respected law enforcement officers, and the completion of this
- 23 project ensures that the county will be even better equipped to meet
- 24 the needs of its criminal justice system in the years to come; now,

H.R. No. 476

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the dedication of the Dan Saunders
- 4 Law Enforcement Center in Stanton and commend all those involved in
- 5 bringing this endeavor to fruition for their vision, leadership,
- 6 and hard work.

Craddick

H.R. No. 476

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 476
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 476 was 19, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House