By: Price H.R. No. 492

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Amarillo native Heston Kjerstad has compiled an

2 impressive list of accomplishments during his freshman season with

3 the University of Arkansas baseball team; and

WHEREAS, The son of Jody and Dave Kjerstad, Mr. Kjerstad

5 graduated from Randall High School in Amarillo and went on to enroll

6 at the University of Arkansas; there, he enjoyed tremendous success

7 as a starting outfielder for the 2018 Razorbacks, helping Arkansas

8 advance all the way to the College World Series finals, where the

9 team ultimately finished as runner-up with an overall record of 39

10 wins and 18 losses; and

13

11 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, Mr. Kjerstad proved himself a

12 standout member of the squad, becoming the program's new freshman

leader in homers with 14 and setting the record for hits with 87; he

14 also compiled a .332 batting average, scored 65 runs, and notched 58

15 RBIs; in recognition of his exceptional performance, he was chosen

16 as the 2018 Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Year, and he

17 earned First Team Freshman All-American honors from the National

18 Collegiate Baseball Writers Association; moreover, he was named to

19 the College World Series All-Tournament Team, the All-SEC Second

20 Team, and the SEC All-Freshman Team; and

21 WHEREAS, With his stellar showing in 2018, Heston Kjerstad

22 established himself as one of the premier first-year players in

23 college baseball, and he may take justifiable pride in his

24 outstanding achievements as he looks forward to a future bright

H.R. No. 492

- 1 with promise; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Heston Kjerstad on a memorable
- 4 freshman season with the Arkansas Razorbacks baseball team and
- 5 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Kjerstad as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.