## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Justice Phil Johnson retired from the Texas Supreme

Court on December 31, 2018, drawing to a close an exemplary tenure

3 on the state's highest court that spanned 13 years; and

WHEREAS, Appointed by Governor Rick Perry in 2005, Justice

Johnson won admiration for his steadfast leadership; his knowledge

6 and wisdom were particularly crucial in cases involving the oil and

7 gas industry and the rights of landowners, and he excelled as a

8 liaison to the board of the State Bar; he previously served for

9 seven years on the Seventh Court of Appeals in Amarillo, winning

10 election as its chief justice in 2002; and

2

5

11 WHEREAS, Justice Johnson grew up in Lubbock and completed his

12 bachelor's degree in mathematics at Texas Tech University; during

13 the Vietnam War, he served in the U.S. Air Force, flying

14 fighter-bombers and then instructing student pilots; he attained

15 the rank of captain and received numerous decorations, among them

16 the Silver Star, two Distinguished Flying Crosses, and the

17 Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry; subsequently, he graduated with

18 honors from Texas Tech School of Law and joined the Lubbock firm of

19 Crenshaw, Dupree & Milam, where he became a partner; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to the legal profession, Justice Johnson

21 has served on numerous State Bar of Texas committees, and he is a

22 former president of the Lubbock County Bar Association; a life

23 fellow of both the Texas and American Bar Foundations, he is also a

24 member of the College of the State Bar of Texas and the American Law

H.R. No. 495

- 1 Institute; in addition, he has benefited the wider community
- 2 through his membership on the boards or supervising committees of
- 3 the Legal Aid Society of Lubbock, the Golden Spread Council of the
- 4 Boy Scouts of America, Kiwanis, Southwest Lighthouse for the Blind,
- 5 and other organizations; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Justice Phil Johnson has made enormous
- 7 contributions to Texas law, and in so doing, he has earned the
- 8 lasting respect and appreciation of his fellow citizens; now,
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Phil Johnson for his
- 12 outstanding service as a justice of the Texas Supreme Court and
- 13 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for Justice Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
- 16 Texas House of Representatives.

Price

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro

Minjarez

Morales

Murphy

Murr

Neave

Nevárez

Morrison

Muñoz, Jr.

Moody

Flynn

Frank

Geren

Frullo

Goldman

Goodwin

Gervin-Hawkins

González of Dallas

González of El Paso

Vo Walle

Wu

White

Wilson Wray

Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Spoakor	of.	+ho	<b>Полсо</b>	
Speaker	Οİ	the	House	

H.R. No. 495

I certify that H.R. No. 495 was adopted by the House on April 15, 2019, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House