By: Cyrier

H.R. No. 511

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2019
 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at its signature event in Austin
 on February 26 and 27, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1995, the Texas Cultural Trust heightens awareness of the many ways in which the arts enhance education and improve quality of life in our communities; the organization provides leadership in promoting and supporting the arts to ensure that the Lone Star State maintains its reputation for excellence in the cultural sphere and continues to benefit from related economic development; and

11 WHEREAS, Fulfilling its mission to inspire, integrate, and 12 illuminate the arts, the Texas Cultural Trust sponsors its biennial 13 Texas Medal of Arts Awards to pay tribute to Texans who have made 14 significant contributions in the state and around the world through 15 their creative talent or philanthropic efforts; and

16 WHEREAS, Those selected for the 2019 awards are Matthew 17 McConaughey, film; Boz Scaggs, music; Brandon Maxwell, design; 18 Stephen Harrigan, literary arts; Elaine Molinar and Craig Dykers, 19 architecture; Vidal M. Treviño School of Communications and Fine 20 Arts, arts education; Mark Seliger, multimedia; Trenton Doyle 21 Hancock, visual arts; Conspirare, music ensemble; and Jennifer 22 Holliday, theater; and

23 WHEREAS, The rich cultural heritage of our state is a source 24 of pride to all Texans, and through their outstanding endeavors,

1

1 the 2019 Medal of Arts Award honorees have immeasurably enhanced 2 the lives of people in the Lone Star State and beyond; now, 3 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 511

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2019 Texas
Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their
dedication to the advancement of the arts; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for each award winner as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

2