H.R. No. 538

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the American Cancer Society Cancer Action
Network are visiting the State Capitol on February 26, 2019; and

3 WHEREAS, As the advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer 4 Society, the network has contributed vitally to the fight against 5 cancer in Texas by advancing laws and policies that make cancer a 6 top priority; and

7 WHEREAS, This year alone, more than 124,000 Texans are 8 estimated to be diagnosed with cancer, and over 41,000 Texans will 9 lose their lives to the disease; investment in cancer research and 10 prevention has paid impressive dividends, reducing the death rate 11 and improving the clinical outcomes and quality of life of 12 thousands of people; and

WHEREAS, Cancer Action Network volunteers in Texas are involved in numerous activities as part of the organization's mission to make strides against cancer and provide support to those living with the disease; across the State of Texas, more than 300 Relay for Life events engage local communities to help raise awareness of public policy issues important to the fight against cancer; and

20 WHEREAS, The dedicated volunteers of the American Cancer 21 Society Cancer Action Network have done exceptional work to call 22 attention to an eminently worthy cause, and their efforts are 23 giving countless cancer patients hope for a brighter future; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 538

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as American Cancer 3 Society Cancer Action Network Day at the State Capitol and extend to 4 the organization and its volunteers sincere best wishes for 5 continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the network as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Zerwas

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 538

Oliverson

H.R. No. 538

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 538 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House