H.R. No. 540

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter are
- 2 visiting Austin on February 26, 2019, to celebrate Grammy Texas
- 3 Music Advocacy Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The birthplace of Texas country, Tejano, and other
- 5 distinctive styles, the Lone Star State has a history of producing
- 6 music in a vast range of genres, and such talented artists as
- 7 Beyoncé, Gary Clark Jr., Flaco Jimenez, George Strait, and Willie
- 8 Nelson have all called Texas home; and
- 9 WHEREAS, To serve the state's vibrant music community, the
- 10 Recording Academy, the organization responsible for the Grammy
- 11 Awards, established a Texas chapter in 1998; at the 61st Annual
- 12 Grammy Awards in 2019, music professionals from Texas received 48
- 13 nominations and won 12 awards, including Album of the Year by Golden
- 14 native Kacey Musgraves; and
- WHEREAS, An integral part of the Texas economy, the music
- 16 industry is tied to more than 160,000 jobs throughout the state, and
- 17 each year, live music festivals generate hundreds of millions of
- 18 dollars in economic activity; as a reflection of its support for
- 19 this important commercial sector, the Texas Legislature created the
- 20 Texas Music Office, which opened its doors in 1990; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The innovative musicians of the Lone Star State are
- 22 furthering an exceptional legacy of artistic achievement, and in so
- 23 doing, they are making a notable contribution to the culture and
- 24 economy of Texas; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 540

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as Grammy Texas
- 3 Music Advocacy Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to
- 4 the visiting members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter.

Hunter

H.R. No. 540

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Ashby Hefner Patterson Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler González of Dallas Nevárez Zerwas

Zwiener

Noble

González of El Paso

Goodwin

	H.R. NO. 540
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 540 was	adopted by the House on February
26, 2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House