## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and members of the 2 administration of Prairie View A&M University are visiting the 3 State Capitol on February 25, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University dates back to 1876, 4 5 during the Reconstruction Era, when the 15th Texas Legislature established a school known as the "Alta Vista Agricultural and 6 Mechanical College of Texas for Colored Youth"; the first students 7 enrolled in 1878, and a normal school for training teachers, the 8 state's first coeducational public institution of higher learning, 9 was created by the legislature the following year; the normal 10 11 school and the agricultural and mechanical college were combined by 12 the 20th Legislature in 1887; and

13 WHEREAS, The institution expanded its curriculum to four 14 years in 1901 and began offering intercollegiate athletics three years later; a cooperative agricultural extension program was added 15 in 1914, and establishment of the Army Reserve Officer Training 16 Corps followed in 1917; during the 1920s, the school introduced the 17 first baccalaureate degrees and a school of nursing, took part in 18 the organization of the Southwest Athletic Conference, 19 and initiated the Prairie View Interscholastic League for African 20 21 American high schools, which later merged with the University Interscholastic League; and 22

23 WHEREAS, In 1937, a graduate school was established at 24 Prairie View; the school began a program for commissioning U.S.

1

1 Army officers in 1943 and naval reserve officers in 1968; five 2 commissioned officers from the school's army training corps have 3 gone on to become three-star generals, and three officers from its 4 navy training corps have become admirals; and

5 WHEREAS, Voters approved a state constitutional amendment in 1984 that recognized Prairie View A&M as "an institution of the 6 first class" and restructured the state's Permanent University Fund 7 8 to include Prairie View as a beneficiary; in addition, the legislature established the Texas Institute for the Preservation of 9 History and Culture at Prairie View in 1999; the school launched its 10 first doctoral program, in juvenile justice, in 2001 and has since 11 12 added others in electrical engineering, juvenile forensic 13 psychology, and education leadership; and

14 WHEREAS, With the administration now led by president 15 Dr. Ruth J. Simmons, the university serves an enrollment of over 16 9,000 students, and Texas benefits from the contributions of the 17 school's 70,000 alumni; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to achieving excellence in teaching, research, and service, Prairie View A&M seeks to provide students with a quality educational experience that reflects its values of access, accountability, diversity, leadership, relevance, and social responsibility; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2019, as Prairie View A&M University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those associated with the university sincere best wishes for the future.

Bell of Montgomery

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 541 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House