H.R. No. 552

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For 125 years, Parkland Health & Hospital System has 2 been a trusted resource for Dallas County residents and a model of 3 socially conscious health care for medical centers around the 4 country; and

5 WHEREAS, Parkland Memorial Hospital opened its doors on May 19, 1894, with a benevolent mission to serve the community's poor; 6 although the establishment of the institution came at a time when 7 few technologies existed, the foundation upon which it was 8 built--the right of all people to state-of-the-art health care, 9 regardless of financial status--would weather more than a century 10 11 of political, social, and economic change; the hospital stood 12 through the Great Depression, two world wars, and the civil rights movement and was propelled into the national consciousness on 13 14 November 22, 1963, when President John F. Kennedy died within its walls; and 15

WHEREAS, Today, Parkland is a world-renowned health care 16 provider featuring outstanding trauma and burn centers, one of the 17 busiest labor and delivery departments in the nation, and an 18 abiding focus on innovation and cost efficiency; the 21st century 19 20 has brought unique challenges to hospitals, and through a 21 pioneering approach to population health management that involves addressing the social determinants of health and using predictive 22 23 analytics and telemedicine, Parkland is committed to improving 24 medical outcomes for all while practicing good financial

1

H.R. No. 552

1 stewardship; and

2 WHEREAS, Parkland's patient care services include its Victim 3 Intervention Program/Rape Crisis Center and HIV/AIDS Clinic, and it is home to the headquarters of both the Injury Prevention Center of 4 5 Greater Dallas as well as the North Texas Poison Center; in addition, through continued support for its Community Oriented 6 Primary Care system, medicine is being brought directly to 7 underserved local residents, including members of Dallas County's 8 homeless population; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The long and distinguished history of Parkland 11 Health & Hospital System has been shaped by the exceptional skill, 12 compassion, and commitment of its physicians, staff, and administrators, and their ongoing pursuit of excellence will be 13 14 integral as the health system continues to build on its stellar 15 reputation in the decades to come; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Parkland Health & Hospital System 18 on 125 years of service to the people of Dallas County and extend to 19 all those associated with the health system sincere best wishes for 20 continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for Parkland as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

> Anchia Neave Turner of Dallas

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 552

Oliverson

H.R. No. 552

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 552 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House