H.R. No. 556

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Brandon Maxwell has been named a 2019 Texas Medal of
Arts honoree by the Texas Cultural Trust for his accomplishments in
the field of design; and

WHEREAS, A Longview native, Brandon Maxwell is the founder 4 5 and creative director of the eponymous luxury women's ready-to-wear label; he launched Brandon Maxwell in 2015, and his designs have 6 7 been worn by a host of influential women, among them Meghan Markle, Oprah Winfrey, Blake Lively, and Queen Rania of Jordan; his 8 9 collection is sold in upscale retail stores around the world, and he has earned numerous professional accolades, among them the 2016 10 11 CFDA Swarovski Award for Womenswear; in 2019, he is starring as a 12 judge in the relaunch of the hit show Project Runway; and

WHEREAS, At an early age, Mr. Maxwell was introduced to the magic of design by his grandmother, Louise Johnson, who was a buyer for a Longview boutique; he studied photography at St. Edward's University, and in 2009, he began assisting fashion stylists; three years later, he became a fashion director for Lady Gaga, and he also worked on fashion campaigns and editorials for prominent photographers; and

20 WHEREAS, Brandon Maxwell has brought Texas flair to the 21 international fashion world while helping to make a positive 22 difference in his home state; during a residency in Marfa in 2018, 23 Mr. Maxwell designed a collection that serves as an homage to the 24 Lone Star State; while working on the project, he used some of his

1

H.R. No. 556

time to meet with local residents, from artists to hospitality 1 workers, to learn about the economic gap between citizens and 2 3 visitors to their community; apprised of underfunding in the schools, he developed a corporate partnership for a philanthropic 4 5 initiative and secured a significant donation for educational resources, as well as a vehicle for teachers to use in travel to 6 professional training; he arranged for charitable giving to San 7 8 Antonio Girl Scout troops and New York shelters as well; and

9 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts program pays tribute to 10 luminaries who have achieved excellence in their creative 11 endeavors, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to 12 artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages, and Brandon Maxwell is 13 indeed a deserving recipient of this illustrious honor; now, 14 therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Brandon Maxwell on receiving a 2019 17 Texas Medal of Arts from the Texas Cultural Trust and commend him 18 for his many good works; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Mr. Maxwell as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 556

Oliverson

H.R. No. 556

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 556 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House