H.R. No. 563

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ben Galvan is being honored with the Distinguished
Alumnus Award by the University of Houston-Victoria at the UHV
Alumni Banquet on March 1, 2019; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious accolade is presented to a UHV graduate whose exceptional accomplishments, character, and record of service represent the ideals and values of the university; and

7 WHEREAS, A first-generation college student, Mr. Galvan 8 worked full-time while attending UHV, and he graduated with a 9 master's degree in business administration in 1994; he has since 10 become the owner and president of CivilCorp, a transportation, 11 infrastructure, and site-development engineering firm based in 12 Victoria, as well as the owner of Tierra Linda, a local property 13 development company; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Galvan has given back to his alma mater as a member of the UHV "Here, We Go" campaign committee; moreover, he has served on the boards of the Citizens Medical Center, the Victoria College Foundation, and the Victoria Independent School District Beducation Foundation, and he has contributed to the Victoria Chamber of Commerce by chairing its transportation committee and establishing the South Texas Transportation Conference; and

21 WHEREAS, Ben Galvan's outstanding dedication to the 22 University of Houston-Victoria and his community has truly enhanced 23 the lives of his fellow Texans, and he is indeed deserving of this 24 most recent honor; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 563

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Ben Galvan on his receipt of the 3 2019 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of 4 Houston-Victoria and extend to him sincere best wishes for 5 continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Galvan as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Morrison

H.R. No. 563

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 563 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House