H.R. No. 567

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Civic and business leaders of the Coastal Bend are
- 2 gathering in Austin on February 27, 2019, to celebrate the many
- 3 qualities that make their region one of the state's premier
- 4 vacation destinations; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Each year, the Coastal Bend draws millions of
- 6 travelers from across the country and around the globe; visitors to
- 7 Corpus Christi alone infuse more than \$1 billion into the local
- 8 economy and support tens of thousands of jobs; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Port of Corpus Christi is one of the largest
- 10 ports in the country by tonnage, and it holds the distinct honor of
- 11 exporting the first barrel of U.S. crude in 40 years; it is also a
- 12 strategically significant port for the United States military, as
- 13 the Coastal Bend is home to Naval Air Stations Corpus Christi and
- 14 Kingsville and the Corpus Christi Army Depot; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The myriad popular attractions in the area include
- 16 the Padre Island National Seashore, the Texas State Aquarium, and
- 17 the South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center, with its 182
- 18 acres of tropical flowers, butterflies, and parrots; in addition,
- 19 visitors enjoy such cultural and educational venues as the Art
- 20 Museum of South Texas, the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and
- 21 History, and the USS Lexington aircraft carrier; Corpus Christi
- 22 also hosts the world-renowned Fiesta de la Flor in honor of the life
- 23 and legacy of Selena Quintanilla Pérez; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The Coastal Bend area contributes significantly to

H.R. No. 567

- 1 the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone Star State, and its
- 2 residents may indeed take pride in the rich heritage and natural
- 3 beauty that bring so many visitors to their communities; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2019, as Coastal Bend Day
- 7 at the State Capitol and extend to the region's delegation sincere
- 8 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable event.

Hunter Herrero

H.R. No. 567

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. NO. 567
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 567 was 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House