H.R. No. 586

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Tyler baseball team
closed out an unforgettable year in triumphant fashion by winning
the 2018 NCAA Division III championship on May 29 in Appleton,
Wisconsin; and
WHEREAS, A national title seemed a long shot for the unranked
Patriots following their semifinal loss in the American Southwest
Conference tournament, but under the direction of head coach Brent

9 NCAA tournament; the team went on to win the Central Regional

Porche, UT Tyler capitalized on the at-large bid it received to the

10 Tournament and earn a slot in the Division III championship

11 bracket; after defeating SUNY Oswego and Misericordia University,

12 the Patriots climbed to the elimination round, where they dropped

13 the first game to Randolph-Macon College and then rallied to take

14 the rematch and advance to the NCAA finale; and

8

WHEREAS, With the title on the line, UT Tyler faced off 15 against No. 6 Texas Lutheran University in the best-of-three 16 championship series; the Patriots dominated the opener, scoring two 17 runs in the first inning and adding five in the fourth frame to 18 surge to an 8-1 victory; demonstrating its tenacity throughout Game 19 20 Two, UT Tyler erased an early deficit and then broke the contest 21 open by scoring five runs in the seventh inning to prevail by a final score of 9-6; with the win, the Patriots collected the first 22 23 championship in program history and also became the first American 24 Southwest Conference team to claim a national crown; and

H.R. No. 586

WHEREAS, UT Tyler was led by Simon Sedillo, who pitched two 1 2 complete games in the NCAA tournament and was named the Most Outstanding Player; moreover, Bowie Farris, Blake Maddox, Tanner 3 Roach, and Henry Sanchez were named to the All-Tournament Team; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Winning a national title represents the culmination 6 of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the members of The University of Texas at Tyler 7 8 baseball team will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it 9

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Tyler
Patriots on winning the 2018 NCAA Division III national
championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Schaefer

H.R. No. 586

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 586 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House