H.R. No. 602

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Live Oak County Historical Commission
 are visiting the State Capitol on February 26, 2019; and

3 WHEREAS, The Live Oak County Historical Commission was founded in the early 1960s under the auspices of Judge Harry L. 4 5 Hinton to help preserve and promote local history; today, it strives to educate the public through the publication of historical 6 7 resources and through collaboration with local civic organizations; staff and volunteers also work with area officials 8 9 to strengthen policy related to preservation and to honor outstanding individuals and businesses that have helped shape the 10 11 community; and

WHEREAS, In support of its mission to preserve the region's unique history, the commission places historical markers at notable sites throughout the area and advocates for the acquisition of archeological grants to study historic sites, including the Fort Merrill grounds; benefiting from the leadership of cemetery chair Sherry Kosarek, it has made significant progress in cemetery recognition; and

19 WHEREAS, This distinguished organization has been recognized 20 for its efforts with four Distinguished Service Awards from the 21 Texas Historical Commission; and

22 WHEREAS, The Live Oak County Historical Commission works 23 diligently to promote the region's unique cultural history and to 24 preserve the memories of the citizenry, and all those involved with

1

1 the commission are indeed deserving of special praise; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as Live Oak County 5 Historical Commission Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm 6 welcome to the visiting delegation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the commission as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 602

2

H.R. No. 602

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 602 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House