H.R. No. 603

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Rowlett are gathering in Austin on
February 27, 2019, to celebrate Rowlett Day at the State Capitol;
and

WHEREAS, The area around present-day Rowlett was first settled in the 1840s by members of the Peters and Mercer Colonies; a post office was set up in 1880 and named Morris, after its first postmaster, but the name was later changed to Rowlett, after Rowlett Creek, a tributary of the east fork of the Trinity River; and

WHEREAS, The arrival of the Dallas and Greenville Railway in 11 1889 helped the town become a prosperous cotton farming community 12 with a school, churches, and businesses, and in 1921, it was 13 included on the route of the Bankhead Highway, one of the nation's 14 first transcontinental highways; the city was incorporated in 1952 15 by a vote of 84 citizens; and

WHEREAS, Today, Rowlett has grown into a thriving city of 16 more than 60,000 residents who enjoy 30 miles of beautiful Lake Ray 17 18 Hubbard shoreline; it has been named a Tree City USA, and SafeHome.org has ranked it the ninth-safest city in Texas; Rowlett 19 has also won recognition from the Texas Economic Development 20 21 Council and the Dallas Business Journal for its economic development achievements; the Rowlett Chamber of Commerce was 22 established in 1924, and it continues to play a vital role in local 23 24 development as this small, agricultural town has grown into a

1

H.R. No. 603

1 modern city with a vibrant downtown business district; and

2 WHEREAS, Honoring their heritage as they embrace the 3 opportunities of the future, the citizens of Rowlett may take 4 justifiable pride in the fine Texas city they call home; now, 5 therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2019, as Rowlett Day at 8 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 9 best wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

> Button Bowers Holland

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 603

Oliverson

H.R. No. 603

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 603 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House