H.R. No. 616

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than a century, Edinburg has been one of the 2 leading cities of the Rio Grande Valley, and this remarkable 3 community is truly deserving of special recognition; and

WHEREAS, The county seat of Hidalgo County, Edinburg has been named an "All-America City" on three occasions, more than any other city in the Valley; this is the most prestigious municipal recognition in the nation, awarded to only 10 communities across the nation each year; and

9 WHEREAS, Edinburg is one of the fastest-growing communities 10 in the Valley, in terms of population growth as well as construction 11 of new single-family and multifamily residences; a center for 12 education, sports, and the arts, it is home to the main campus and 13 medical school of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, as well 14 as H-E-B Park, a professional soccer stadium, and the Bert Ogden 15 Arena, a state-of-the-art concert venue; and

16 WHEREAS, The City of Edinburg is a regional hub for health care, home to South Texas Health System and Doctors Hospital at 17 Renaissance, and for nearly four decades, it has hosted the annual 18 All-America City David Chavana 10K Run/Walk, one of the largest 19 such races in Texas; the city is likewise committed to economic 20 21 development through its Small Business Renovation and Improvements Grant program, helping small businesses thrive through the 22 23 restoration and beautification of their properties; and

24 WHEREAS, In recent years, Edinburg has become a focal point

1

H.R. No. 616

1 for the border security efforts of the state and federal 2 governments; the U.S. Customs and Border Patrol RGV Sector is 3 headquartered in the city, overseeing nine offices and two 4 checkpoints covering more than 34 counties along the U.S.-Mexico 5 border, and the city's South Texas International Airport is 6 likewise the headquarters of the airborne efforts of the Texas 7 Department of Public Safety in the region; and

8 WHEREAS, In 2010, the city was celebrated as "the Hometown of 9 Heroes" by Governor Rick Perry in recognition of two local heroes, 10 U. S. Army Private Pedro Cano and U.S. Marine Corps Sergeant Freddy 11 Gonzalez, who were each awarded both the Congressional and Texas 12 Legislative Medals of Honor; and

WHEREAS, Through its efforts to raise awareness of community needs and promote civic engagement, this dynamic city is working to address critical issues, solve challenges, and create stronger community connections among its residents, businesses, nonprofits, and government leaders; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 19 Legislature hereby honor the City of Edinburg for its history and 20 record of achievement and extend to the city's public officials and 21 citizens sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the City of Edinburg as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Canales

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 616

H.R. No. 616

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 616 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House