By: Goldman H.R. No. 627

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's

Office is celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding in

3 2019; and

2

WHEREAS, Established on October 19, 1919, the Tarrant County

5 Criminal District Attorney's Office was initially led by Jesse

6 Brown, who served as the county's first criminal district attorney

7 and devoted more than four decades of service to his fellow

8 residents; through the years, the office has benefited from the

9 leadership of 15 exemplary attorneys such as Tim Curry, who held the

10 position for 37 years, and current Tarrant County Criminal District

11 Attorney Sharen Wilson; and

12 WHEREAS, The office has been at the forefront of numerous

13 advances, including the hiring of the state's first female

14 assistant criminal district attorney and first African American

15 assistant criminal district attorneys, as well as the development

16 of the first-known pretrial diversion program; in addition, the

17 office created an open-file policy for defense attorneys decades

18 before the practice was mandated, and it was among the first in the

19 state to accept electronic filing of criminal cases and to

20 establish a victims' assistance office; and

21 WHEREAS, For a century, the Tarrant County Criminal District

22 Attorney's Office has served the county's citizens with integrity

23 and professionalism, and it is a pleasure to join in recognizing the

24 office as it marks this special milestone in its history; now,

H.R. No. 627

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Tarrant
- 4 County Criminal District Attorney's Office and extend to all those
- 5 associated with the office sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success with their important work; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the office as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.