H.R. No. 630

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. G. Ray Callas of Beaumont was presented with the 2 American Medical Association Medal of Valor in November 2018, in 3 recognition of his courageous efforts in the wake of Hurricane 4 Harvey; and

5 WHEREAS, The Category 4 storm made landfall in Southeast Texas on August 25, 2017, bringing winds of 130 miles per hour and 6 7 inundating the region with more than 60 inches of rain; in the midst of one of the nation's worst-ever flooding events, Dr. Callas 8 9 worked with hospitals and emergency response teams to secure transportation for struggling patients to medical facilities that 10 11 could provide the care they needed, and he also volunteered his time 12 for days on end preparing and serving meals to residents who were forced to evacuate their homes; and 13

WHEREAS, An anesthesiologist, Dr. Callas currently serves as president of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists; he further shares his time and expertise with the Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees, and he previously chaired the TMA's Council on Legislation for two years; an engaged member of his community, he has competed in Dancing with the Stars Beaumont, a fund-raising event for local charities; and

21 WHEREAS, By stepping forward to offer his services at a time 22 of dire need, Dr. G. Ray Callas embodied the virtues of compassion, 23 dedication, and altruism that are fundamental to the medical 24 profession, and he is truly deserving of this prestigious honor;

1

H.R. No. 630

1 now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. G. Ray Callas on his receipt of 4 the American Medical Association's Medal of Valor and extend to him 5 sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work; 6 and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Dr. Callas as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Deshotel

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 630

H.R. No. 630

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 630 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House