H.R. No. 637

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of Pilgrim Branch Missionary Baptist 2 Church in Houston are celebrating the 150th anniversary of their 3 church's founding in June 2019; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1869 under the leadership of the Reverend Mack Austin, the former Pilgrim Rest Missionary Baptist Church was created to serve a newly freed people following the end of the Civil War; in its early years, it was located in the lowlands on Faulkey Gully but after persistent troubles with flooding, the church moved north to an area known as Kohrville, and the Reverend Phil Blackstock became its first pastor; and

11 WHEREAS, Since its organization, Pilgrim Branch has 12 benefited from the dedicated efforts of many outstanding clergy, 13 and today that tradition of service is continued by the Reverend 14 Herman L. Pickens; and

WHEREAS, United by their shared faith and strong traditions, the members of this notable house of worship have established a variety of commendable programs that foster fellowship and offer help to those in need, including a food pantry, a sick and bereavement support group, a praise choir, and a youth ministry; and

21 WHEREAS, Countless Houston residents have looked to Pilgrim 22 Branch for spiritual guidance over the years, and it is a pleasure 23 to join in honoring the church at this special time in its rich 24 history; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 637

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of Pilgrim 3 Branch Missionary Baptist Church and extend to Reverend Pickens and 4 the congregation sincere best wishes for many more years of shared 5 prayer and communion; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Pilgrim Branch Missionary Baptist Church as an 8 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Harless

H.R. No. 637

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 637 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House