H.R. No. 642

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, U.S. Navy Seaman Lawrence Paul Hayden gave his life
- 2 in the line of duty during the tragic attack on the USS Liberty in
- 3 the eastern Mediterranean Sea on June 8, 1967; and
- WHEREAS, During the Six-Day War, the USS Liberty, an American
- 5 signals intelligence ship, was stationed off the coast of Gaza, and
- 6 on June 8, the ship was attacked by Israeli fighter planes and
- 7 torpedo boats; of the 34 Americans killed and the 171 wounded,
- 8 Mr. Hayden is believed to be the only Texan; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A native of Houston, Larry Hayden was adopted at
- 10 birth on June 16, 1947, by Mr. and Mrs. James H. Hayden, and he grew
- 11 up with two sisters and a brother; as a young boy, he used his talent
- 12 performing magic tricks at benefits for orphanages and other
- 13 charities, and he went on to become an accomplished public speaker,
- 14 debater, and actor, playing in both professional and school
- 15 productions; he was president of his church's youth group, and by
- 16 the time he graduated from high school, he was already working as a
- 17 radio announcer on KQED radio in Houston; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Answering his nation's call to duty, Mr. Hayden
- 19 joined the U.S. Navy in May 1966, and he was stationed on the USS
- 20 Liberty as a cryptologic technician; he had been serving for just
- 21 over a year on the day of the attack, and he died eight days before
- 22 his 20th birthday; he is buried in Arlington National Cemetery; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Lawrence Hayden was a young man of great promise who
- 24 made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of his country, and his

H.R. No. 642

- 1 fellow Americans owe him a debt that the passage of time can never
- 2 diminish; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of U.S. Navy Seaman
- 5 Lawrence Paul Hayden.

Bernal

H.R. No. 642

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Talarico Lozano Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas Goodwin Nevárez Zwiener

	H.R. No. 642
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 642 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on March 13, 2019.	
	Chief Clerk of the House