H.R. No. 653

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A rich and purposeful life drew to a close with the
- 2 death of Charles N. Avery III of Round Rock on August 14, 2018, at
- 3 the age of 75; and
- WHEREAS, Charles Avery was born in Austin on November 28,
- 5 1942, to Charles Avery Jr. and Lucille Sharp Avery, and he grew up
- 6 with three siblings, John, Nelson, and Christina; after graduating
- 7 from Austin High School in 1960, he attended St. Edward's
- 8 University, where he earned a degree in marketing and finance in
- 9 1966; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After serving with the U.S. Army as an intelligence
- 11 officer in Germany from 1966 to 1969, Mr. Avery embarked upon a
- 12 successful career in banking; he was a national bank examiner until
- 13 1977, and he served as executive vice president of United States
- 14 National Bank from 1977 to 1980; he was president of Sugar Land
- 15 State Bank from 1980 until 1992, and after his retirement from
- 16 banking, he worked for a Houston construction company before
- 17 settling in Round Rock; and
- WHEREAS, Descended from a family of prominent farmers and
- 19 merchants in Williamson County, Mr. Avery and his siblings decided
- 20 in 2000 to develop their family's properties around Round Rock and
- 21 Hutto as a medical and educational hub; these lands have gone on to
- 22 become the home of Texas State University, the Texas A&M Health
- 23 Science Center, Austin Community College, Seton Medical Center
- 24 Williamson, and many other important institutions; Mr. Avery

H.R. No. 653

- 1 further benefited his community as a board member for the Old
- 2 Settlers Association of Williamson County, the Greater Round Rock
- 3 Community Foundation, Capital IDEA, Ride on Center for Kids, and
- 4 the Seton Williamson Development Board; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Avery shared a rewarding marriage of 52 years
- 6 with his wife, Beth Heller Avery, and he was the proud father of a
- 7 daughter, Marta Avery Lue; deeply devoted to their faith, Mr. and
- 8 Mrs. Avery expressed their beliefs through their generosity and by
- 9 participating in mission trips overseas and sponsoring foreign
- 10 students; in 2007, they were recognized as Citizens of the Year by
- 11 the City of Round Rock, and in 2016, they were presented with the
- 12 Lifetime Philanthropy Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award by
- 13 the Round Rock Chamber of Commerce; and
- WHEREAS, A loving family man, a respected professional, and a
- 15 true community leader, Charles Avery leaves behind an admirable
- 16 record of service that his loved ones can remember with pride; now,
- 17 therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Charles N. Avery III
- 20 and extend heartfelt sympathy to his family and friends; and, be it
- 21 further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Charles N.
- 25 Avery III.

Talarico

H.R. No. 653

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen	Guerra Guillen	Noble Oliverson
Allison	Gutierrez	Ortega
Anchia	Harless	Pacheco
Anderson		Paddie
	Harris	
Ashby	Hefner	Parker
Bailes	Hernandez	Patterson
Beckley	Herrero	Paul
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Perez
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Phelan
Bernal	Howard	Price
Biedermann	Huberty	Ramos
Blanco	Hunter	Raney
Bohac	Israel	Raymond
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Reynolds
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Romero, Jr.
Bucy	Kacal	Rose
Burns	King of Hemphill	Rosenthal
Burrows	King of Parker	Sanford
Button	King of Uvalde	Schaefer
Cain	Klick	Shaheen
Calanni	Krause	Sheffield
Canales	Kuempel	Sherman, Sr.
Capriglione	Lambert	Shine
Clardy	Landgraf	Smith
Cole	Lang	Smithee
Coleman	Larson	Springer
Collier	Leach	Stephenson
Cortez	Leman	Stickland
Craddick	Longoria	Stucky
Cyrier	Lopez	Swanson
Darby	Lozano	Talarico
Davis of Dallas	Lucio III	Thierry
Davis of Harris	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria
Dean	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris
Deshotel	Metcalf	Tinderholt
Dominguez	Meyer	Toth
Dutton	Meza	Turner of Dallas
Farrar	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Fierro	Miller	VanDeaver
Flynn	Minjarez	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morales	White
Geren	Morrison	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins	Muñoz, Jr.	Wray
Goldman		Wray Wu
Gordinan González of Dallas	Murphy Murr	wu Zedler
González of El Paso	Murr Neave	Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	
GOOGWIII	MENGTEZ	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 653
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 653 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
of the House on March 19, 2019.	

Chief Clerk of the House

vote