H.R. No. 680

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texas Adoptee Rights is a nonprofit organization 2 dedicated to educating all Texans about the unique challenges faced 3 by adult adoptees, and members of the group are gathering at the 4 State Capitol on March 11, 2019; and

5 WHEREAS, By promoting public awareness and advocating for legislative reform, the organization works on behalf of adopted 6 7 adult citizens who are seeking their original birth certificates; it represents the interests of all three parties involved in the 8 adoption process--adult adoptees, birth parents, and adoptive 9 parents--and its members include Texans as well as 10 other 11 individuals whose births and adoptions occurred in our state; and

12 WHEREAS, The barriers that adult adoptees currently face in 13 obtaining their birth records are of vital concern as the adoptees 14 may need access to this information in order to get a full understanding of their family health history; the mission of Texas 15 Adoptee Rights stems from the belief in the fundamental right of 16 adopted citizens to equal treatment under the law and in the belief 17 that the adoption process in Texas should be honest and transparent 18 in all aspects; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Texas Adoptee Rights is playing a leading role in 21 advocating for public policy reform and in helping to ensure that 22 our adoption system is an efficient, just, and humane system for 23 current and future generations; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

H.R. No. 680
1 Legislature hereby recognize March 11, 2019, as Texas Adoptee
2 Rights Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the
3 members of the organization who are visiting Austin.

Calanni

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 680

H.R. No. 680

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 680 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House