By: Kacal

H.R. No. 690

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A group of ranchers and farmers from across the Lone 2 Star State have received recognition as the 2017 and 2018 winners of 3 the Lone Star Land Steward Awards and the Leopold Conservation 4 Awards; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1996 by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, the Lone Star Land Steward Awards celebrate excellence 6 7 in private land conservation by recognizing landowners for their outstanding stewardship of our state's land, water, and wildlife 8 resources; more than 225 Texas landowners have been recognized to 9 date, and each year, the overall state winner is presented with the 10 Leopold Conservation Award, which is sponsored by the Sand County 11 12 Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The recipient of the Leopold Conservation Award in 13 14 2017 was the Dixon Water Foundation, owner of Dixon Ranches in Parker, Cooke, and Presidio Counties; the 2017 Ecoregion Award 15 winners also included Mark Brown of Brown Ranch in Fayette County, 16 Mike Harris and John Sewell of Harris Ranch in Uvalde and Kinney 17 Counties, Kim Bergman and Pam Mabry Bergman of Three Mile Creek 18 Ranch in Gillespie County, the Michaux family of Solana Ranch in 19 Bell and Williamson Counties, Greg Grant of Arcadia in Shelby 20 21 County, CEMEX USA and J. Austin Ranches of El Carmen Land and Conservation Company in Brewster County, and Rod and Mary Hench of 22 23 Wild Wings Ranch in Scurry County; and

24

WHEREAS, In 2018, the Leopold Conservation Award went to

1

H.R. No. 690

Rolanette and Berdon Lawrence of Laborcitas Creek Ranch in Brooks 1 County, while the 2018 Ecoregion Award winners included Deborah 2 3 Clark and Emry Birdwell of Birdwell and Clark Ranch in Clay County, Christopher Harte and William Harte of Spicewood Ranch in Burnet 4 5 County, Nelson Roach of Couch Mountain in Camp County, Tamara and Justin Trail of Trail Ranch in Shackelford County, 6 the Hughes-Sasser Partnership of Billingsley Ranch in Presidio and Jeff 7 8 Davis Counties, and the Alum Creek Wildlife Management Association in Bastrop County; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The natural beauty and ecological diversity of the 11 Lone Star State depend greatly on careful stewardship by its 12 landowners, and these conscientious and hardworking Texans are 13 helping to preserve precious natural and cultural resources for 14 future generations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the 2017 and 2018 recipients of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards and the Leopold Conservation Awards and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for each recipient as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

2