H.R. No. 722

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Sports Hall of Fame is recognizing the
- 2 exceptional accomplishments of its 2019 inductees at a ceremony on
- 3 March 30 in Waco; and
- WHEREAS, Since inducting its first member in 1951, the Texas
- 5 Sports Hall of Fame has honored the athletic careers of more than
- 6 300 men and women; in 1993, the institution opened a museum in Waco
- 7 to chronicle the lives of these legendary individuals and to
- 8 preserve the history of sports in Texas for present and future
- 9 generations; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The hall of fame's Class of 2019 is made up of seven
- 11 exemplary athletes: the late professional tennis star Maureen
- 12 Connolly Brinker, former Texas A&M University and NFL placekicker
- 13 Tony Franklin, former Houston Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson,
- 14 pioneering professional basketball player and coach Nancy
- 15 Lieberman, former University of Arkansas football player Loyd
- 16 Phillips, former University of Texas and Major League Baseball
- 17 pitcher Greg Swindell, and retired Dallas Cowboys All-Pro tight end
- 18 Jason Witten; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through their outstanding skill and dedication,
- 20 these esteemed Texans have furthered the proud tradition of
- 21 athletic excellence in the Lone Star State, and they are indeed
- 22 deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize the 2019 inductees of the Texas Sports

H.R. No. 722

1 Hall of Fame and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future.

Raymond

H.R	. No.	722

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 722 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House