H.R. No. 724

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 150 years, area Texans have come together to
celebrate their faith at First Baptist Church, Hearne; and

3 WHEREAS, This venerable house of worship was organized as Hearne Station Baptist Church on April 18, 1869, with 11 charter 4 5 members; the congregation erected its first building in 1877, and on September 7, 1907, it laid the cornerstone for a new auditorium 6 7 and then adopted its present-day name; over the years, the church has expanded its facilities to meet the evolving needs of the 8 9 membership, and in addition to a sanctuary, its current site on West Davis Street includes a fellowship hall and family life center; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Since its establishment, FBC has played a vital role 12 in the Hearne community, providing its members with myriad 13 opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and outreach; 14 moreover, the church is active with the FIRM Baptist Area of Central 15 Texas and the Baptist General Convention of Texas; and

16 WHEREAS, The congregation has benefited from the able 17 leadership of more than 30 senior pastors, and today that tradition 18 of service is continued by the Reverend James Hooper; and

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church, Hearne has long served as a source of inspiration and guidance to those who worship there, and its continued existence is a testament to the unwavering commitment of its members and clergy, both past and present; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

H.R. No. 724

Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of First
Baptist Church, Hearne and extend to the congregation sincere best
wishes for many more years of shared prayer and fellowship; and, be
it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Kacal

H.R. No. 724

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 724 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House