H.R. No. 738

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas State Teachers Association and 2 Texas AFT, along with other Texas educators, are convening in 3 Austin on March 11, 2019, to take part in Texas Public Education Day 4 at the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1880, the Texas State Teachers Association has 6 been dedicated to furthering the best interests of teachers, school 7 employees, and students; the group is an affiliate of the National 8 Education Association, which is one of the largest professional 9 employee organizations in the U.S.; and

10 WHEREAS, Texas AFT was chartered in 1974 as the Texas 11 Federation of Teachers, and it is the state branch of the American 12 Federation of Teachers, which includes 1.6 million members 13 nationwide; the organization represents public school educators, 14 paraprofessionals, and other school-related employees, as well as 15 faculty members and support staff of higher education institutions; 16 and

WHEREAS, The backbone of our public education system, 17 teachers work tirelessly every day to help children develop the 18 skills and learning habits essential to achieving a successful 19 20 future; although their compensation does not reflect the importance 21 of their profession, teachers routinely go above and beyond, working extra hours to fulfill their educational mission and 22 23 frequently digging deeply into their own pockets to furnish their classrooms and provide supplies that students cannot afford; and 24

1

H.R. No. 738

1 WHEREAS, In carrying out their duties, educators benefit 2 tremendously from the related efforts of bus drivers, cafeteria and 3 clerical workers, and other support staff who play a critical role 4 in maintaining a safe, healthy, and nurturing campus environment; 5 today, Texas educators and their colleagues face greater challenges 6 than ever before, as they prepare some 5.4 million students for jobs 7 and adult responsibilities in a changing global economy; and

8 WHEREAS, Public education is an endeavor in which all Texans 9 have a stake, and through their steadfast devotion to the 10 development of our young people, teachers and school support 11 personnel are helping to ensure that the future of the Lone Star 12 State rests in capable hands; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 11, 2019, as Texas Public Education Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the Texas State Teachers Association and Texas AFT and their colleagues sincere best wishes for an informative visit to Austin.

Bailes

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 738

H.R. No. 738

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 738 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House