H.R. No. 740

By: Lozano

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Charles Leroy Moody is concluding his tenure as the 2 sheriff of San Patricio County on March 31, 2019, after more than 3 half a century in law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, A 1958 graduate of Taft High School, Leroy Moody 4 5 began working as a dispatcher for the City of Sinton and San Patricio County following his honorable discharge from the 6 7 U. S. Army in 1965; though he briefly left to take a position as foreman of Mayo Farms in Taft, he returned to San Patricio County as 8 a dispatcher in March 1966, and he went on to become a deputy 9 sheriff and process server; in 1974, he was promoted to chief 10 deputy, a position he held until his election as sheriff in 1988, 11 12 and he was subsequently reelected seven times; and

WHEREAS, Highly respected by his peers, Sheriff Moody held the office of president for the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, and he has been active in the Coastal Bend Peace Officers Association; his service to the community has included committee assignments with the Coastal Bend Council of Governments and membership in the Sinton Lions Club and Sinton Masonic Lodge No. 1012; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of his many contributions, Sheriff Moody received the Tom Tellepsen Award from the Sheriffs' Association of Texas and the Humanitarian of the Year award from the Sinton Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Leroy Moody's dedication, professionalism,
 and commitment to protecting and serving the public have greatly

1

1 benefited the residents of San Patricio County, and he may indeed 2 reflect with pride on his exceptional record of achievement; now, 3 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 740

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Charles Leroy Moody on his
retirement as the sheriff of San Patricio County and extend to him
sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Sheriff Moody as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

2