RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, From March 2 to March 21, 2018, the city of Austin 2 was gripped by a series of seemingly random bombings, which ushered in a state of fear and vigilance in the community and called forth a 3 highly coordinated multiagency response to bring the perpetrator of 4 5 these heinous crimes to justice; and 6 WHEREAS, The bombs, which took the lives of Anthony Stephan 7 House and Draylen Mason and injured five other people, followed no apparent pattern, were delivered to targets all across the city, 8 9 and varied in their trigger methods, from a string of package explosives to the eventual use of a tripwire; the unpredictable 10 11 nature of the attacks posed a complex challenge to investigators 12 with the Austin Police Department, led by then-interim police chief Brian Manley; further assistance was provided by the Federal Bureau 13 14 of Investigation and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, and hundreds of local and state police and federal 15 agents were assigned to the case as it built to its crescendo; and 16 WHEREAS, A trail of evidence uncovered by police eventually 17 led to the identification of the suspect and a standoff in the 18 nearby city of Round Rock on March 21; as SWAT team officers closed 19 20 in on the man, he committed suicide by detonating a final explosive 21 in his vehicle, bringing the harrowing incident to its conclusion with no additional fatalities; and 22 WHEREAS, Countless individuals from a host of organizations 23

and units contributed their skills to the investigation; those

24

- 1 deserving of special recognition for their efforts include members
- 2 of the Austin Police Department SWAT Team who were present on the
- 3 scene during the fraught final moments of the manhunt: Katrina
- 4 Pruitt, Brannon Ellsworth, Robert Justesen, Vincent Garcia,
- 5 William Jackman, Pat O'Connor, Leighton Radtke, Jon Abbott, Mike
- 6 Ridge, Jeff Kingsley, Jared Hidalgo, and Tandy Perkins; and
- WHEREAS, A number of bomb technicians also risked their lives
- 8 examining and neutralizing the numerous suspicious packages and
- 9 devices that were discovered over a period of weeks; they included
- 10 members of the Austin PD Bomb Squad, Courtney Renfro, Jeff Dwyer,
- 11 Jesse Carrillo, Caine Johnson, Jay McCormick, Josh Euhus, Jeff
- 12 Joseph, George Ewing, Rob Nunez, Kent Collins, Scott Rhoads, and
- 13 Troy Wiser; members of the Texas Department of Public Safety Bomb
- 14 Squad, Thomas Kovacs, Raymond Real, Donnie Bolton, and Andrew
- 15 Martinez; members of the San Antonio Bomb Squad, Jeremy Swindells,
- 16 Chad Culp, Jon Sarno, Matthew Armstrong, Jason Alberthal, and Jason
- 17 Lemcke; and members of the Houston Bomb Squad, Alton Baker, Greg
- 18 Smith, and Jason Countryman; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Tasked with ending a reign of terror that threatened
- 20 to claim many more lives, these men and women met the challenge
- 21 before them with tremendous skill and courage, and they have earned
- 22 the heartfelt gratitude of the citizens of Austin and the entire
- 23 State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the SWAT team and bomb squad members who
- 3 responded to the 2018 Austin bombings and extend to them sincere
- 4 best wishes for continued success with their important work.

Israel

_		
Bonnen of Brazoria	Guerra	Noble
Allen	Guillen	Oliverson
Allison	Gutierrez	Ortega
Anchia	Harless	Pacheco
Anderson	Harris	Paddie
Ashby	Hefner	Parker
Bailes	Hernandez	Patterson
Beckley	Herrero	Paul
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Perez
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Phelan
Bernal	Howard	Price
Biedermann	Huberty	Ramos
Blanco	Hunter	Raney
Bohac	Israel	Raymond
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Reynolds
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Romero, Jr.
Bucy	Kacal	Rose
Burns	King of Hemphill	Rosenthal
Burrows	King of Parker	Sanford
Button	King of Uvalde	Schaefer
Cain	Klick	Shaheen
Calanni	Krause	Sheffield
Canales	Kuempel	Sherman, Sr.
Capriglione	Lambert	Shine
Clardy	Landgraf	Smith
Cole	Lang	Smithee
Coleman	Larson	Springer
Collier	Leach	Stephenson
Cortez	Leman	Stickland
Craddick	Longoria	Stucky
Cyrier	Lopez	Swanson
Darby	Lozano	Talarico
Davis of Dallas	Lucio III	Thierry
Davis of Harris	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria
Dean	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris
Deshotel	Metcalf	Tinderholt
Dominguez	Meyer	Toth
Dutton	Meza	Turner of Dallas
Farrar	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Fierro	Miller	VanDeaver
Flynn	Minjarez	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morales	White
Geren	Morrison	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins	Muñoz, Jr.	Wray
Goldman	Murphy	Wu
González of Dallas	Murr	Zedler
González of El Paso	Neave	Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	Zwiener
300 dw 111	110 / 41 02	7 W T 011 0 T

													H.R.	No	•	747
									_							
										Speaker of the House						
		I	cert	ify	that	H.R.	No.	747	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	Мa	ırch
19,	201	19,	by	a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.									

Chief Clerk of the House