H.R. No. 769

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A life made rich through meaningful service drew to 2 a close with the passing of Estella Lane Trevino of Edinburg on 3 April 30, 2018, at the age of 95; and WHEREAS, The daughter of Jack Lane Sr. and Estella P. Lane, 4 5 the former Estella Lane was born in Red Gate on August 6, 1922, and grew up there with five siblings, Francisca, Samuel, Jack, Aminta, 6 7 and Jovita; when she was only 18, she opened a beauty salon, which she operated for 21 years; she married the love of her life, Jose 8 9 Luis Trevino, and they were blessed with a daughter, Chiqui; devoted to her family, she joyfully welcomed the addition of a 10 son-in-law, George X. Guerra, and she became "Bobi" to three 11 12 grandchildren, Brian, Leanne, and Steven, and four great-grandchildren, Xavier, Oslo, Sean, and Cooper; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Mrs. Trevino was elected in 1959 as the first female justice of the peace in Hidalgo County; after her four-year tenure, 15 16 she worked as a night auditor at the Rodeway Inn in McAllen, and in 1972, she was hired as executive director of the Edinburg Housing 17 Authority, becoming the first woman to lead a Rio Grande Valley 18 housing authority; over the course of more than four decades in that 19 role, she distinguished herself through her skill and great 20 21 dedication to ensuring that the most vulnerable members of society had safe, affordable housing; in 2005, she received the Hall of Fame 22 23 Award for Outstanding Service from the Texas Chapter of the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials; and 24

H.R. No. 769

- 1 WHEREAS, Always seeking to make a positive difference,
- 2 Mrs. Trevino served on the board of the South Texas Independent
- 3 School District, and she represented Rio Grande Valley seniors in
- 4 the Texas Silver-Haired Legislature for many years; a valued member
- 5 of St. Joseph Catholic Church, she was appointed as a trustee of El
- 6 Rosario Charitable Trusts; she was named 2009 Woman of the Year by
- 7 the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce, and the City of Edinburg declared
- 8 September 23, 2011, as "Estella Lane Trevino Day"; in addition, The
- 9 University of Texas-Pan American established an endowment in her
- 10 name to provide scholarships for Edinburg students living in public
- 11 housing; and
- WHEREAS, Deeply committed to her family, her faith, and her
- 13 community, Estella Lane Trevino earned the lasting respect and
- 14 admiration of all who were privileged to know her; now, therefore,
- 15 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Estella Lane Trevino
- 18 and extend sincere condolences to all who mourn her passing; and, be
- 19 it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Estella
- 23 Lane Trevino.

Guerra

H.R. No. 769

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Talarico Lozano Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Muñoz, Jr. Wray Gervin-Hawkins Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

| H.R. No. 769 |
|--------------------------------|
| |
| Speaker of the House |
| nanimously adopted by a rising |
| |
| |
| |

Chief Clerk of the House