H.R. No. 790

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Memories of a life filled with joyful times and 2 meaningful accomplishments remain to comfort the family and friends 3 of Lynda Townsend Brown of Austin, who passed away on August 3, 4 2018, at the age of 81; and

5 WHEREAS, Lynda Brown, who was affectionately called "Lynda 6 Honey," was born in Bell County on July 29, 1937; she graduated in 7 1955 from Salado High School, where she was a star player on the 8 girls' basketball team; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Brown moved to Austin in 1957 and pursued a 9 varied career in banking, business, politics, and real estate; 10 after serving on the campaign that led to the election of President 11 12 George H. W. Bush in 1988, she worked with Representative Tom Craddick to establish the House Republican Caucus and was selected 13 14 to serve as its first director during the 71st Legislative Session; she later held the position of support services manager for the 15 16 House Property Department; in the mid-1990s, she turned her focus to her real estate business and eventually retired as one of the 17 most successful agents in Austin; and 18

WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Ms. Brown enjoyed the love and support of her husband, J. Tim Brown, and she took great pride in her children, Regan, Mindy, Tracy, and Kevin, and her stepchildren, Scott, Amy, Susan, and David; and

WHEREAS, Blessed with a warm, gregarious personality,
Ms. Brown had a contagious smile and laugh and a natural ability to

1

H.R. No. 790

1 put others at ease; she was sustained by a strong faith, which 2 endowed her with grace and resilience as she coped with daunting 3 health struggles; through it all, she was fiercely devoted to her 4 children and grandchildren, supporting them when they competed in 5 baseball, basketball, and other sports and traveling across the 6 country to cheer them on from the sidelines at marathons; and

7 WHEREAS, Although she is deeply missed, Lynda Brown 8 immeasurably enriched the lives of all who were fortunate enough to 9 know her, and they will forever hold her close in their hearts; now, 10 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 11 12 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Lynda Townsend Brown and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to 13 14 her husband, J. Tim Brown; to her children, Regan Ellmer and JoAnn 15 Dalrymple, Mindy Ellmer and Charlie Geren, Tracy Townsend, and Kevin and Angie Guess; to her stepchildren, Scott and Sherri Brown, 16 17 Amy and Jody McKenzie, Susan Nolley, and David and Cara Brown; to her brother, Lane Townsend, and his wife, Carolyn; to her sister, 18 19 Margie Howerton; and to her many other relatives and friends; and, be it further 20

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 23 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lynda 24 Townsend Brown.

Howard

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 790

Noble

H.R. No. 790

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 790 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 21, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House