H.R. No. 817

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Steve Torrence of Kilgore reached the pinnacle of 2 drag racing success when he won the Mello Yello National Hot Rod 3 Association top fuel world championship on October 28, 2018; and

WHEREAS, The title victory was the highlight of an exceptional season in which Mr. Torrence won 11 races and made NHRA history as the only driver in any discipline to sweep the Countdown to Championship playoffs; he also became the first competitor ever to win NHRA series titles in both the top fuel and top alcohol dragster divisions, having claimed the latter title in 2005; and

10 WHEREAS, Over the course of his career, Mr. Torrence has 11 racked up more than 25 NHRA tour victories, including 19 races over 12 the past two years; in fact, he entered the 2019 campaign having won 13 12 straight final round matches; most remarkably, he has achieved 14 all of this after overcoming cancer in the early 2000s and 15 recovering from a heart attack in 2016; and

16 WHEREAS, Mr. Torrence is a graduate of Kilgore College and 17 works for Capco Contractors, a family business founded by his 18 father; an East Texas native, he continues to call Kilgore home, 19 flying to race locations around the country each weekend during the 20 season; and

21 WHEREAS, Demonstrating a combination of exceptional talent 22 and fierce determination, Steve Torrence has become a premier 23 figure in the sport of drag racing, and his success is a source of 24 great pride to his many fans in the Lone Star State and beyond; now,

1

H.R. No. 817

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Steve Torrence on winning the 2018 Mello Yello National Hot Rod Association top fuel world championship and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Torrence as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Clardy

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 817

H.R. No. 817

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 817 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House