## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Rusk County are assembling at the Texas
- 2 State Capitol to celebrate Rusk County Days on March 20 and 21,
- 3 2019; and
- WHEREAS, A picturesque region of rolling hills in the Piney
- 5 Woods of East Texas, Rusk County was first occupied by the Caddo and
- 6 Cherokee tribes; the first European settlers arrived in the 1830s,
- 7 and on January 16, 1843, the county was formed by act of the
- 8 Congress of the Republic of Texas and named after Thomas Jefferson
- 9 Rusk, secretary of war under Texas President Sam Houston; and
- 10 WHEREAS, For many years, the county's economy was based on
- 11 cotton and other agriculture, but on October 3, 1930, Columbus
- 12 Marion "Dad" Joiner struck oil at his famous Daisy Bradford No. 3
- 13 well, opening up the East Texas oil field, which at the time was the
- 14 largest oil field in the world; three years later, Rusk County was
- 15 producing over 200 million barrels of petroleum a year, turning
- 16 county seat Henderson from a sleepy village to a bustling boomtown;
- 17 and
- 18 WHEREAS, Oil and agriculture continue to be mainstays of the
- 19 county's economy, along with natural gas, timber, and the mining of
- 20 lignite coal; in addition, Rusk County's bricks, made from the
- 21 region's unique clay soil, are highly prized; and
- WHEREAS, Only two miles from "Dad" Joiner's original well,
- 23 the Gaston Museum in Joinerville commemorates the history of the
- 24 East Texas oil field; in Henderson, the Depot Museum, a beautifully

- 1 restored Missouri Pacific railway depot from 1901, hosts the annual
- 2 Heritage Syrup Festival every November; and recreational
- 3 opportunities abound in the county's parks, including Martin Creek
- 4 Lake State Park, which offers swimming, boating, fishing,
- 5 waterskiing, and other activities; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The people of Rusk County take great pride in their
- 7 rich history as they work together to build an even brighter future,
- 8 and it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique
- 9 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 10 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby recognize March 20 and 21, 2019, as Rusk County
- 13 Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 14 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Clardy

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu
Goldman	Murphy	Wu
González of Dallas	Murr	Zedler
González of El Paso	Neave	Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 828 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2019, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House