H.R. No. 835

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, parents, teachers, and administrators
- 2 from across the Lone Star State joined together February 4 through
- 3 8, 2019, to celebrate National School Counseling Week in Texas; and
- WHEREAS, School counselors are employed in public and private
- 5 schools throughout Texas and hold dual certification as both
- 6 teachers and school counselors; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Actively committed to helping students reach their
- 8 full potential, school counselors encourage students to explore
- 9 their abilities, strengths, talents, and emotional well-being
- 10 through the delivery of comprehensive school counseling programs;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, School counselors work with teachers, principals,
- 13 and other campus personnel to guide students as they explore their
- 14 interests and their abilities and as they set goals for themselves;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, School counselors engage with parents to help them
- 17 support the educational, personal, social, and emotional growth of
- 18 their children; and
- 19 WHEREAS, These committed educators seek to identify and
- 20 utilize community resources that can enhance and complement school
- 21 counseling programs to enable students to become productive members
- 22 of society; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Comprehensive school counseling programs are an
- 24 integral part of the educational process, enabling students to

H.R. No. 835

- 1 succeed in school and in life, and these programs are making a
- 2 positive and lasting difference for many Texans; now, therefore, be
- 3 it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 4 through 8, 2019, as
- 6 National School Counseling Week in Texas and extend to all of the
- 7 state's professional school counselors sincere best wishes for
- 8 continued success with their important work.

Huberty

<b>TT</b>	_	3. T	$\sim \sim r$
Н	$\nu$	NO	$\times$ $\times$ $\sim$

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 835 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House