H.R. No. 864

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, During the month of March 2017, the Texas Panhandle 2 suffered multiple, massive wildfires, and Clint Harmon of the Mobeetie Volunteer Fire Department was part of a coalition of first 3 responders who fought heroically and tenaciously to save the lives 4 5 and property of Texans in the region; and 6 WHEREAS, Fueled by dry vegetation, high winds, 7 unseasonably hot weather, the fast-moving wildfires broke out on March 6 and raged for days, destroying some 500,000 acres of Texas 8 prairie land and resulting in the deaths of four people; the fires 9

were some of the largest in state history and led to the declaration of a state of emergency in six counties by Governor Greg Abbott; and
WHEREAS, The combined efforts of fire personnel from around and beyond the region, including members of local volunteer fire

14 departments, were needed to contain the blazes; working exhausting

15 hours in perilous conditions, these dedicated individuals risked 16 their lives to halt the fires' rampage and rescue residents, and

17 their contributions were vital to averting further tragedy and

18 destruction; and

WHEREAS, In answering the call of duty during this catastrophic crisis, Clint Harmon demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to protecting the safety of his fellow citizens, and he earned the enduring gratitude and admiration of Texans across the

23 state; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 864

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Clint Harmon of the Mobeetie Volunteer
- 2 Fire Department for his bravery, skill, and dedication in fighting
- 3 the Texas Panhandle wildfires of March 2017 and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Harmon as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Springer

TT	_	3. T	0.61
	-	$N \cap$	864

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 864 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House