H.R. No. 890

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Firefighters from across Texas are gathering at the 2 State Capitol on March 19, 2019, for Firefighter Appreciation Day 3 and a memorial service honoring their fallen comrades; and

WHEREAS, The event is hosted by the State Firefighters' and Fire Marshals' Association of Texas, which represents 22,000 individual members, more than 1,200 fire departments, and 80 industrial fire brigades in the Lone Star State; and

8 WHEREAS, Each year, on average, six firefighters in Texas die 9 in the line of duty; though improvements in safety oversight have 10 resulted in a decrease by half of the number of deaths over the past 11 15 years, firefighting remains one of the most dangerous 12 professions; and

WHEREAS, At the ceremony in Austin, 12 firefighters who made 13 14 the ultimate sacrifice between 2002 and 2018 are being honored by their peers and their families; these heroes include Travis Wiens 15 16 of the Wichita West Fire Department, Scott Deem of San Antonio FD, Jarrell B. Hinkie of the Silsbee Volunteer Fire Department, Eric 17 Zapalac of Sealy FD, Daryl Barber of Brazoria VFD, Charles 18 Patterson of Bowie Rural VFD, M. V. Hudson of New London FD, Larry 19 Marusik of Ellinger VFD, Caleb Scott of North Richland Hills FD, 20 21 Bernard Olive of Baytown FD, Frankie Partida Jr. of Glen Flora VFD, and Richard Andy Loller Jr. of Weatherford FD; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Every day, firefighters and other emergency 24 responders risk their own lives to protect the lives of their fellow

1

H.R. No. 890

 citizens, and these skilled and courageous men and women deserve
 the heartfelt gratitude of every Texan; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 4 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Texas firefighters 5 who have died in the line of duty and extend sincere sympathy to the 6 members of their families; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That when the Texas House of Representatives
adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Travis Wiens, Scott Deem,
Jarrell B. Hinkie, Eric Zapalac, Daryl Barber, Charles Patterson,
M. V. Hudson, Larry Marusik, Caleb Scott, Bernard Olive, Frankie
Partida Jr., and Richard Andy Loller Jr.

Springer Cain White Leman Frank

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 890

H.R. No. 890

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 890 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 19, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House