RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Chief Mike Elliot retired from the Westlake Fire
- 2 Department in February 2019, drawing to a close a noteworthy tenure
- 3 that has spanned a quarter century; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Mike Elliot first joined the Westlake Fire
- 5 Department in January 1993, serving initially as a volunteer
- 6 firefighter while also working in the oil business as an underwater
- 7 diver-welder; in 1997, he was hired by the department as a full-time
- 8 employee and was named lieutenant; in the ensuing years, he rose
- 9 steadily through the ranks, earning promotion to captain, assistant
- 10 chief, and then chief in 2012; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the course of his career, Captain Elliot helped
- 12 lead the department through a period of notable growth and
- 13 development, and along the way, he garnered the respect and
- 14 admiration of his colleagues, as well as members of the local
- 15 community; and
- WHEREAS, For 25 years, Mike Elliot has demonstrated an
- 17 exceptional commitment to protecting the lives and property of his
- 18 fellow citizens, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career
- 19 well spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life;
- 20 now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Captain Mike Elliot on his
- 23 retirement from the Westlake Fire Department and extend to him
- 24 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Captain Elliot as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu
Goldman	Murphy	Wu
González of Dallas	Murr	Zedler
González of El Paso	Neave	Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	Zwiener

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 895 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House