H.R. No. 899

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor Host City program in Gainesville 2 is helping to raise awareness of the courage and sacrifice of 3 members of our nation's military; and

WHEREAS, Established by the city council in 2001, the program pays tribute to those who have received the Medal of Honor, the highest award for valor that the country bestows upon members of the armed forces; it is often referred to as the Congressional Medal of Honor, as it is generally presented by the United States president in the name of Congress; and

WHEREAS, program 10 The annual provides а number of 11 opportunities for area residents to meet Medal of Honor recipients 12 and express their appreciation; with a focus on child-friendly activities, the event allows young people to interact with military 13 14 heroes and learn firsthand the enduring value of discipline, patriotism, and devotion to duty; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Each year, the event is supported by numerous 17 volunteers from the community, and others arrive from across the 18 country to assist with this unique initiative; during the 2015 19 program, Gainesville dedicated the Medal of Honor Park as a 20 monument to all recipients of the medal; and

21 WHEREAS, The men and women who have received the Medal of 22 Honor exemplify the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, and 23 through the Medal of Honor Host City program, Gainesville residents 24 and visitors express the deep respect and gratitude that selfless

1

1 military service engenders in the hearts of all Americans; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize the Medal of Honor Host City program 5 and commend all those involved in this noteworthy endeavor for 6 their efforts; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 899

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 899

H.R. No. 899

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 899 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House