H.R. No. 902

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On April 13, 2019, members of the American Legion in 2 the Angleton area are gathering to commemorate two special milestones: the 100th anniversary of the national organization and 3 the 90th anniversary of the Charles Dixon Post No. 241; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Founded on March 15, 1919, the American Legion is the nation's largest wartime veterans service organization; it is 6 7 dedicated to supporting and paying tribute to those who have taken up arms to defend our freedoms, and it carries out a range of 8 programs to assist former and current members of the military and 9 their families; in addition, the group places a strong emphasis on 10 11 mentoring youth, strengthening communities, and advocating 12 patriotism and honor; its current membership exceeds more than two million people, and they have collectively contributed over 3.7 13 14 million hours of volunteer service and provided assistance on more than 181,000 VA benefits claims and cases; and 15 WHEREAS, One of over 12,000 local posts worldwide, the 16 American Legion Charles Dixon Post No. 241 was named after Charley 17 Sam Dixon, who served in the American Expeditionary Forces during 18 World War I; the post received its charter on July 8, 1929, and was 19 20 made up of 48 members at its inception; for the better part of a 21 century, it has worked diligently to further the goals and advance the mission of its parent organization; today, the post is as vital 22 23 as ever, having nearly doubled its membership over the past 10 years, and its emphasis on addressing the needs of local residents 24

H.R. No. 902

- 1 has made a difference in hundreds of lives; and
- WHEREAS, The members of the Charles Dixon Post No. 241 have
- 3 distinguished themselves by contributing to the exceptional legacy
- 4 that the American Legion has built over the past 100 years, and they
- 5 are performing a noble service through their ongoing efforts to
- 6 benefit their community and all those who have valiantly and
- 7 faithfully served our nation in the armed forces; now, therefore,
- 8 be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the
- 11 American Legion and the 90th anniversary of the American Legion
- 12 Charles Dixon Post No. 241 in Angleton and extend to the post's
- 13 members sincere best wishes for continued success with their
- 14 important work; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the post as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 902

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 902
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 902 was 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on April 9,
	Chief Clerk of the House