H.R. No. 918

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Shelbyville High School boys' basketball team 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2019 University Interscholastic League 2A state championship on March 9 at the 3 Alamodome in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Following a disappointing loss in the 2018 state tournament semifinals, the Dragons came back with a vengeance 6 7 during the 2018-2019 campaign; they were undefeated in district play and went on to dominate in the playoffs, defeating Gary, 8

Hull-Daisetta, Cushing, Lovelady, and Grapeland High Schools to once again punch their ticket to the state tournament; in their 10

11 semifinal matchup, they overwhelmed Hearne by a score of 83-51,

12 setting the stage for a showdown with Gruver High for the

13 championship crown; and

9

14 WHEREAS, Though Gruver took the lead in the game's opening minutes, Shelbyville took command with a 19-2 run later in the first 15 16 quarter and never looked back; the Dragons stayed true to their reputation as an offensive powerhouse, leading by as many as 24 17 points in the second half, and winning by a final tally of 67-48; 18 the team rounded out an exceptional season with an overall record of 19 20 39-3 and collected its first state championship since 1984; and

21 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Dragons 22 received valuable contributions throughout the year from each 23 member of the roster: Marcus Horton, L. D. Coleman, Kolby Parker,

Jay Buckley, A. J. Cartwright, Kaleb Campbell, Jekevian Calhoun, 24

H.R. No. 918

- 1 Jordan Boykins, Kurtric Allen, Buddy McClelland, Cole Ferguson,
- 2 John Quintero, Jaylon Brinson, Colt Leach, Kel Wilson, and Keyshawn
- 3 McCollister; these dedicated athletes benefited from the
- 4 leadership of head coach David Schmitt and assistant coaches Joe
- 5 Boykins and Christopher Moore; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an unwavering resolve to give
- 7 their very best, the members of the Shelbyville Dragons basketball
- 8 team have proven themselves the finest 2A team in the Lone Star
- 9 State, and they may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done;
- 10 now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Shelbyville High School boys'
- 13 basketball team on winning the 2019 UIL 2A state championship and
- 14 extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 15 continued success; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

Paddie

## H.R. No. 918

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen	Guerra Guillen	Noble Oliverson
Allison	Gutierrez	Ortega
Anchia	Harless	Pacheco
Anderson		Paddie
	Harris	
Ashby	Hefner	Parker
Bailes	Hernandez	Patterson
Beckley	Herrero	Paul
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Perez
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Phelan
Bernal	Howard	Price
Biedermann	Huberty	Ramos
Blanco	Hunter	Raney
Bohac	Israel	Raymond
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Reynolds
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Romero, Jr.
Bucy	Kacal	Rose
Burns	King of Hemphill	Rosenthal
Burrows	King of Parker	Sanford
Button	King of Uvalde	Schaefer
Cain	Klick	Shaheen
Calanni	Krause	Sheffield
Canales	Kuempel	Sherman, Sr.
Capriglione	Lambert	Shine
Clardy	Landgraf	Smith
Cole	Lang	Smithee
Coleman	Larson	Springer
Collier	Leach	Stephenson
Cortez	Leman	Stickland
Craddick	Longoria	Stucky
Cyrier	Lopez	Swanson
Darby	Lozano	Talarico
Davis of Dallas	Lucio III	Thierry
Davis of Harris	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria
Dean	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris
Deshotel	Metcalf	Tinderholt
Dominguez	Meyer	Toth
Dutton	Meza	Turner of Dallas
Farrar	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Fierro	Miller	VanDeaver
Flynn	Minjarez	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morales	White
Geren	Morrison	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins	Muñoz, Jr.	Wray
Goldman		Wray Wu
Gordinan González of Dallas	Murphy Murr	wu Zedler
González of El Paso	Murr Neave	Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	
GOOGWIII	MENGTEZ	Zwiener

		H.R.	No. 918
	Speaker	of the Ho	use
I certify that H.R. No. 918 was	adopted by the	House on	April 4,
oy a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House

2019, by a non-record vote.