RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Southside Elementary School in the Angleton
- 2 Independent School District has been designated as a 2019 State
- 3 School of Character by Character.org; and
- WHEREAS, Each year, Character.org recognizes schools and
- 5 districts at the state level that have implemented
- 6 character-building initiatives that positively influence student
- 7 behavior, academic achievement, and the overall campus
- 8 environment; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The criteria for the honor are based on
- 10 Character.org's 11 Principles of Effective Character Education,
- 11 which include fostering a culture of kindness, promoting shared
- 12 leadership, and engaging families and communities as partners in
- 13 these efforts; and
- WHEREAS, Southside Elementary is one of only 87 schools from
- 15 across the nation to be chosen as a State School of Character, and
- 16 one of only 15 in Texas; it was recognized as a National School of
- 17 Character in 2014, and it is the only such campus in the Lone Star
- 18 State to be eligible for national recertification this year; and
- WHEREAS, While all 360 students and 40 members of the faculty
- 20 and staff at Southside may take credit for the successful
- 21 implementation of the school's character initiatives, the
- 22 Character Crew is deserving of commendation for compiling the
- 23 information for the application; made up of teachers from each
- 24 grade level as well as special area teachers and school

- 1 administrators, the group includes Sharon Messec, Karen Pointer,
- 2 Matt Rife, Rae Lyn Hightower, Rich Hamm, Jerri Lynn McNeill, Ashley
- 3 Holder, Windy Winters, Lee Ann Wiseman, Kim Mizumoto, Justin
- 4 Collard, and Andrea Rubio; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Character education plays an integral part in the
- 6 development of children into the responsible citizens and ethical
- 7 leaders of tomorrow, and Southside Elementary School has
- 8 established itself as a model for success in this vital endeavor;
- 9 now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Southside Elementary School on its
- 12 designation as a 2019 State School of Character by Character.org
- 13 and extend to its students, faculty, and staff sincere best wishes
- 14 for the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 920 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House