H.R. No. 931

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An exceptional educator received well-deserved 2 recognition when Vanessa Gonzalez was named the 2018 Elementary 3 School Science Teacher of the Year by the Science Teachers 4 Association of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, Presented at the organization's annual Conference 6 for the Advancement of Science Teaching, the Outstanding Science 7 Teacher of the Year Awards recognize members who have distinguished 8 themselves through their excellence and dedication; and

9 WHEREAS, Ms. Gonzalez is a member of the faculty at Cambridge 10 Elementary School in the Alamo Heights Independent School District 11 and draws on 12 years of experience in the classroom; she holds a 12 master's degree in educational leadership from Texas State 13 University and has been certified to teach the Engineering is 14 Elementary model by the DoSeum, a STEM-focused children's museum in 15 San Antonio; and

16 WHEREAS, In carrying out her duties as a teacher, 17 Ms. Gonzalez takes great satisfaction in finding creative ways to 18 communicate key concepts, and she places a special emphasis on 19 helping students discover the fun side of scientific learning; and

WHEREAS, Vanessa Gonzalez exemplifies the passion, determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our best teachers, and she has set a standard of excellence to which all in her profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

Legislature hereby congratulate Vanessa Gonzalez on being named the 2 2018 Elementary School Science Teacher of the Year by the Science 3 Teachers Association of Texas and extend to her sincere best wishes 4 for continued success with her important work; and, be it further 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

6 prepared for Ms. Gonzalez as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Allison

H.R. No. 931

H.R. No. 931

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 931 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House