RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texans lost a tireless champion of higher education

1

2 with the death of former University of Texas at Austin president 3 William C. Powers Jr. on March 10, 2019, at the age of 72; and WHEREAS, A member of the UT School of Law faculty for more 4 5 than four decades, Bill Powers took the helm of the university in 2006; he implemented sweeping reform of the undergraduate 6 7 curriculum, including the creation of mandatory signature courses for freshmen, and he guided the establishment of both the School of 8 Undergraduate Studies and the Dell Medical School, the first new 9 medical school at a tier one public university in decades; his 10 11 commitment to increasing the four-year graduation rate brought a 12 dramatic improvement, from about 50 percent to nearly 70 percent; 13 and 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Powers strived to make the university more efficient and accountable while also raising \$3.1 billion through 15 16 his eight-year Campaign for Texas; in addition, he launched the ESPN-owned Longhorn Network, which is expected to generate \$300 17 million over 20 years, much of that for the endowment of faculty 18 chairs; under his leadership, the construction of 13 major 19 20 buildings was commenced or completed; he established a vice 21 presidency to oversee diversity and community engagement, and he 22 was a stalwart advocate for the use of race and ethnicity as one 23 factor in admissions, pursuing the Fisher affirmative action case all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court and winning a landmark ruling; 24

1 moreover, he was a fierce defender of the academic values and

2 world-changing research that made his institution a "university of

3 the first class"; he enjoyed a sterling reputation in the higher

4 education community, and in 2013, he was elected chair of the

5 Association of American Universities, which represents the top

6 research universities in the U.S. and Canada; when he stepped down

7 as UT president two years later, his administration ranked as the

8 second-longest in UT history; and

joining the UT Law faculty in 1977; and

18

9 WHEREAS, Born in Los Angeles in 1946, Mr. Powers was the son of Mildred Rose Powers and William Charles Powers Sr.; he grew up in 10 Southern California and earned his bachelor's degree in chemistry 11 12 from the University of California, Berkeley; after serving in the U.S. Navy for three years, he graduated magna cum laude from 13 14 Harvard Law School, where he was managing editor of the Harvard Law 15 Review; he clerked for a judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and taught at the University of Washington, the 16 17 University of Michigan, and Southern Methodist University before

WHEREAS, Mr. Powers became one of the nation's foremost 19 20 experts on torts, and he was appointed by the prestigious American Law Institute as Reporter for Restatement (Third) for Torts, the 21 important text for practitioners in that field; 22 most his 23 outstanding work then prompted the ALI to name him the R. Ammi 24 Cutter Reporter; the author of numerous other articles and books on tort law and legal philosophy, he was much in demand as a consultant 25 26 on a wide range of complex tort cases, and he argued 50 cases before the Texas Supreme Court; at the same time, his teaching and 27

- 1 mentorship influenced generations of attorneys; and
- WHEREAS, While serving as dean of the law school, Mr. Powers
- 3 was appointed to Enron's board of directors to lead an internal
- 4 probe of the company's financial dealings and its ultimate
- 5 collapse; his exhaustive report became a road map for more than a
- 6 dozen congressional and executive branch investigations of
- 7 corporate malfeasance, and it resulted in criminal prosecutions; in
- 8 the wake of the scandal, Congress passed the Sarbanes-Oxley Act to
- 9 strengthen financial and securities regulations; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After leaving UT, Mr. Powers became of counsel to
- 11 the Jackson Walker law firm, where he generously shared his
- 12 knowledge with newly minted attorneys and seasoned professionals
- 13 alike; he was the recipient of many accolades, among them the Robert
- 14 B. McKay Award from the American Bar Association and the French
- 15 Order of the Légion d'Honneur, and he was selected as the 2014
- 16 Alumnus of the Year by UC-Berkeley; and
- WHEREAS, Bill Powers was a brilliant attorney, leading legal
- 18 scholar, and visionary standard-bearer for higher education, and
- 19 although he will be deeply missed by all who were privileged to
- 20 share in the richness of his life, he has left an indelible imprint
- 21 on both the practice of law and the educational landscape; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Bill Powers and
- 25 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife of
- 26 36 years, Kim Heilbrun; to his children, Matt, Kate, Allison,
- 27 Annie, and Reid Powers; to his sister, Susan Powers; to his six

- 1 grandchildren; and to all who mourn his passing; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bill
- 5 Powers.

Howard

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Oliverson Allen Gutierrez Allison Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Perez Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Bohac Israel Raymond Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Shaheen Cain Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Lang Smithee Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 999
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 999 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
	Chief Clerk of the House