H.R. No. 1075

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In March 2019, the Railroad Commission of Texas is 2 celebrating the 100th anniversary of its role in the regulation of 3 the oil and gas industry in the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, First established by the legislature in 1891, the Railroad Commission was originally given jurisdiction over the rates and operations of railroads, terminals, wharves, and express companies; with the rapid rise in oil and gas production, the commission was further tasked with oversight of the energy industry in March 1919; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Railroad Commission's Oil and Gas 10 11 Division employs highly skilled petroleum engineers, professional 12 engineers, and professional geologists, as well as more than 160 trained field inspectors, who conduct thousands of inspections of 13 14 oil and gas operators every year, working to ensure the protection of the public, the environment, and the economy; the commission 15 16 benefits from a century of regulatory experience, in such areas as the spacing of wells, the protection of groundwater, water 17 recycling guidelines, and many others; and 18

WHEREAS, Looking ahead to the future, the RRC has implemented a well-plugging program that is on track to plug 3,000 old wells across the state at no cost to Texas taxpayers; in addition, the commission is modernizing its information technology systems, automating its permitting and reporting processes, and launching the Online Inspection Lookup system, which allows the public to

1

H.R. No. 1075 1 access the inspection and violation history of oil and gas wells; 2 and

3 WHEREAS, Over the past century, the Railroad Commission has 4 been instrumental not only in facilitating the responsible 5 management of our state's oil and gas natural resources but also in 6 promoting energy independence in the U.S., and this milestone year 7 provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the agency's 8 outstanding efforts; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 11 Railroad Commission's role in regulating the oil and gas industry 12 in Texas and extend to all those associated with the agency sincere 13 best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be 14 it further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 prepared for the Railroad Commission of Texas as an expression of 17 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Paddie

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1075

H.R. No. 1075

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1075 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House