H.R. No. 1109

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Boots O'Neal of the Four Sixes Ranch in Guthrie was
- 2 honored as the first recipient of the Ranching Heritage Association
- 3 Working Cowboy Award on October 13, 2018; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Working Cowboy Award was established to
- 5 recognize individuals who demonstrate exceptional skill in all
- 6 aspects of ranch work, who are widely respected in the ranching
- 7 community, and who have distinguished themselves through their
- 8 honesty, humility, courage, determination, and optimism; and
- 9 WHEREAS, After learning to ride horses during his teenage
- 10 years in Lefors, Boots O'Neal began his career in 1948 by breaking
- 11 broncs for the RO Ranch; he went on to work for some of the state's
- 12 most historic ranches, including the JA, the Matador, the Waggoner,
- 13 and the Four Sixes, where he has been employed since 1990; at the
- 14 age of 85, this resilient cowboy enjoys good health and still
- 15 saddles up every day to help take care of the ranch's cattle; he is
- 16 renowned for his easygoing personality and has been the subject of
- 17 numerous magazine and newspaper articles; and
- 18 WHEREAS, During a career spanning seven decades, Boots O'Neal
- 19 has furthered the rich legacy of ranching that is so closely
- 20 associated with the history of the Lone Star State, and he is indeed
- 21 deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Boots O'Neal on his selection as
- 24 the inaugural recipient of the Ranching Heritage Association

H.R. No. 1109

- 1 Working Cowboy Award and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 2 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. O'Neal as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 1109

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1109 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House