H.R. No. 1112

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Rebecca Crockett Chapter DAR of Gainesville 2 celebrated its 115th anniversary in 2018; and

3 WHEREAS, In 1903, the group was founded as an affiliate of the Daughters of the American Revolution by 12 descendants of veterans 4 5 of the American War of Independence; the charter members named their organization in honor of Rebecca Hawkins Crockett, the wife 6 7 of John Crockett, who fought for liberty at King's Mountain, and also the mother of David Crockett, the hero of the Alamo; the club's 8 current membership includes four descendants of John Crockett; and 9 WHEREAS, The chapter is dedicated to honoring the brave 10 11 Americans who fought in the Revolutionary War and to promoting 12 historic preservation, education, and patriotism; over the years, the group has placed three commemorative monuments in Gainesville, 13 14 and it has acknowledged veterans and civic leaders through the Medal of Honor program; it also sponsors an annual student essay 15 16 contest and partners with the Gainesville VFW post to place flags on

WHEREAS, Over the course of more than a century, the Rebecca Crockett Chapter DAR has demonstrated an enduring commitment to the important goals of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and its members have helped countless Gainesville residents develop a greater appreciation for the nation's heritage and traditions; now, therefore, be it

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 1112

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 115th anniversary of the Rebecca
- 2 Crockett Chapter DAR and extend to the members of the organization
- 3 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the chapter as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

Η.	R.	No.	11	12
	• • •	110.		

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1112 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House